The function Acoustic Monitoring Sensor

Intelligent Rail Summit 2022 gets underway

The function Acoustic Monitoring Sensor by voestapine Railway Systems 2022, Nick Augusteijn / ProMedia

The Intelligent Rail Summit 2022 kicked off earlier on Wednesday with a technical site visit to Winterthur in Switzerland, where voestalpine RailWay Systems has installed an Acoustic Monitoring Sensor system.

Participants where welcomed by voestalpine Railway Systems experts on site, for an explanation about the software suite of the monitoring solution as well as for a briefing about the sensor system itself.

The function Acoustic Monitoring Sensor software
The features of software of the function Acoustic Monitoring Sensor were explained on site.

“The function Acoustic Monitoring Sensor is a highly sensitive measurement system that collects the acoustic signature of each bearing of a passing train”, the company explained. “Defects associated with the individual components of both tapered and cylindrical roller bearings are detected at an early stage and trends for each monitored bearing are provided.”

Alarms are then generated at user-defined tolerance levels, which supports efficient wheel set maintenance programs. “Monitoring of the health of bearings during train operations provides a valuable source of information for optimising maintenance and overhaul intervals of wheel sets.”

In addition to bearing defects, future phases of development will identify wheel defects, locomotive engine defects and locomotive drive train defects.

The function Acoustic Monitoring Sensor
The location of the function Acoustic Monitoring Sensor was chosen based on the high number of different trains in area near Winterthur.

The conference programma of the Intelligent Rail Summit will start on Wednesday afternoon and will run throughout Thursday as well, with presentations by the likes of Rail Baltica, SBB, ProRail, NS, VR FleetCare, voestalpine Railway Systems and many more.

Author: Nick Augusteijn

Chief Editor,

Add your comment

characters remaining.

Log in through one of the following social media partners to comment.