Here are the nominees for the RailTech Innovation Awards 2017

The jury has selected 18 nominees for the RailTech Innovation Awards. There are 3 nominees per category. During RailTech Europe 2017 on 28, 29 and 30 March these nominees will pitch their innovation, after which the jury will decide on the winner. The RailTech Europe 2017 Awards ceremony will take place during the RailTech Awards-dinner on 28 March 2017 at the Janskerk in Utrecht. Access to the RailTech Awards dinner is included with a RailTech Europe 2017 Conference ticket or by invitation.

The voting for the RailTech Public Innovation Award is now open. Vote and see the current standings below on the voting page. If you would like more information about the nominees, please have a look at the descriptions.

See nominees and vote


There are several Innovation Awards who will be announced during the RailTech Awards Dinner:

  • Innovation Awards; best innovative product / service (5 categories)
  • Young Innovation Award; best innovative product / service by persons under the age of 30 years
  • Public Award; best innovative product / service according to the public
  • Startup Award; best innovative product / service in the Startup Category


Category: Young Innovation Awards

  • Jonge Veranderaars – OVSmiles (read more)
  • Movares – Crowd simulation: A decision-making tool for simulating peak crowd flows and evacuations (read more)
  • Delft University of Technology – Interactive Sound Barriers (read more)

Category: Infrastructure

  • AFT Pneumotion B.V. – Rail Brush (read more)
  • Fugro RailData & BAM Infra Rail bv – (Semi) automatic generation of tamping information using the advanced RILA application (read more)
  • Rail Road Systems BV – Prevent disruption by animals on and around the track (read more)

Category: Rolling Stock

  • FLIR ITS The RSX-F hybrid thermal wide view angle of 95°and HD imaging sensor (read more)
  • RailWatch GmbH & Co. KG Automatic freight wagon monitoring by RailWatch (read more)
  • Ricardo Rail The “PanMon” pantograph monitoring system (read more)

Category: Technology

  • Amadeus IT Group, SA – Rail Display (read more)
  • Amberg Technologies AG – The unique Railway Surveying System IMS 5000 – a revolutionary high-output 3D scanning and track survey system (read more)
  • InTraffic – NaviNABO, the intelligent railway crossing app (read more)

Category: Public Transport

  • G4S Cash Solutions – G4S PAY-OV: Secure, customer centric payment solutions for public transport (read more)
  • Infrabel – A 3D simulator able to replicate their working environment and place them in hazardous situations (read more)
  • Royal Haskoning DHV – Using micro-simulation on national scale for timetable development (read more)

Category: Rail Cargo

  • AeroTrail Solutions – Streamliner (read more)
  • Holland Container Innovations – 4FOLD Foldable Container (read more)
  • Move Intermodal – Ultralight 45ft intermodal swapbody (read more)

Jury members

The jury members include:

  • Erik Sigger, Head of Proces Quality and Innovation (Dutch Railways NS)
  • Dennis Schut, Research & Innovation Manager (UIC)
  • Prof. dr. ir. Rolf Dollevoet (Technical University Delft)
  • Chris Verstegen, Manager Innovation (Dutch Infrastructure Manager ProRail)
  • Dr. Matthias Landgraf (Technical University of Graz)
  • Dr. ir. Niels van Oort, Assistant Professor Public Transport (Technical University Delft)
  • Cor G.A. Hoenders, Director (Rail Cargo Information Netherlands)

See nominees and vote

Author: Bart Pals

Commenting on this post has been disabled.